The signing of the Paris Peace Agreements in October 1991 launched Cambodia in a process of reconstruction after two decades of conflict and civil war. The process, which was backed by a United Nations presence until the first national elections in May 1993, facilitated the foundation of a constitutional monarchy with King Norodom Sihanouk as head of State, and led to the establishment of a power-sharing government.

  • Type:  Constitutional monarchy, Parliamentary representative democracy
  • Head of States: His Majesty Samdech Preah Baromneath Norodom Sihamoni (elected October 29, 2004)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Hun Sen (appointed on January 14 1985, elected in 1998, 2003, and 2008) is in charge of overall execution of national policies and programs, and is accountable to the National Assembly.
  • Legislature: The Constituent Assembly, now called the National Assembly, promulgated Cambodia’s sixth Constitution on 24 September 1993. The 1993 Constitution was amended in March 1999 to establish the Senate, a new legislative body. The Constitution declares liberal democracy and a multiparty system as the foundations of the political regime of the Kingdom of Cambodia. Under the Constitution, the Cambodian people are masters of their own country, possess all powers, and exercise their powers through the National Assembly, Senate, Royal Government, and Judiciary. It also stipulates that the Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branches of government shall be separate. Furthermore, all Khmer citizens possess the right to establish associations and political parties.
    • Senate(Upper House): Chaired by Samdech Chea Sim and consisting of 62 Senators (referring to Figure 1)
    • National Assembly (Lower House): Chaired by Samdech Heng Samrin and consisting of 123 elected members (referring to Figure 2).
  • Judiciary Branch: Supreme Council of the Magistracy (provided for in the constitution and formed in December 1997); Supreme Court (and lower courts) exercises judicial authority.
  • Local Government: The Constitution divides the territory of the Kingdom of Cambodia into provinces and municipalities. Currently, there are 24 provinces and four municipalities (Phnom Penh, Sihanoukville, Kep, and Pailin). Each province is divided into districts (srok), and each district into communes (khum). In addition, there are a group of villages (phum), although they are not considered formal administrative units. Each municipality is divided into sections (khan), each section into quarters (sangkat). The Ministry of Interior is in charge of administering provinces and municipalities.

Members of Cambodia Senate (2006-01-22 Senate Elections Results). (Figure 1)

King Norminees Parliamentary Nominees CPP Funcinpec SRP
2 2 43 9 2


The 4th Mandate Election of Members of National Assembly 2008 (Figure 2)

Political Parties CPP SRP HRP Funcinpec NRP
90 26 3 2 2 123